Town of Gawler

The Town of Gawler is a local government area located north of Adelaide city centre in South Australia containing Gawler and its suburbs. The corporate town was established in 1857 due to the township's residents' dissatisfaction at being governed by three different district councils. The Town of Gawler is located within the officially declared boundaries of the Adelaide metropolitan area. As of 2001 1.0% of the population were Indigenous Australian, and 76.3% were born in Australia. The current mayor of Gawler is Karen Redman (elected November 2014), the female mayor in the town's history.