Mareeba Shire Council

The Shire of Mareeba is a local government area at the base of Cape York Peninsula in Far North Queensland, inland from Cairns. The shire, administered from the town of Mareeba, covered an area of 53,491 square kilometres (20,653.0 sq mi), and existed as a local government entity from 1879 until 2008, when it amalgamated with several councils in the Atherton Tableland area to become the Tablelands Region.

On 20 March 2013, Mareeba residents voted in favour of a proposal to reverse the amalgamation and to re-establish Mareeba Shire. The new Mareeba Shire was re-established on 1 January 2014.

$79,594 yearly
Mareeba Shire Council 65 Rankin Street, Mareeba QLD, Australia
Dec 28, 2020
Full time
Mareeba Shire Council is currently recruiting for a Finance Technical Support Officer. The Finance Technical Support Officer provides high level support to the Management Accountant across all are areas Council with a primary focus on the Infrastructure Services Directorate. The Finance Technical Support Officer is responsible for the coordination of operational and capital budgets, annual and quarterly reviews and budget deadlines. This position provides financial data to directors and managers, ensuring home cost centres are correct and assisting in the maintenance of chart of accounts (General Ledger, Operational Ledger, Capital Ledger and RMPC Ledger). The Ideal candidate will have tertiary qualifications and/or extensive experience in financial operations, preferably budgets, of a local government or similar entity industry. Experience using Microsoft Excel in a financial context at no less than an intermediate level is essential. Those candidates with a good...