City of Port Adelaide Enfield

The City of Port Adelaide Enfield, located across inner north and north-western suburbs of Adelaide, is one of the largest metropolitan councils within South Australia. It was established on 26 March 1996 by the amalgamation of the City of Port Adelaide and the City of Enfield. Extending from the River Torrens to Outer Harbor, and covering an area of approximately 97 km², the Port Adelaide Enfield contains some of the South Australia's finest historical buildings and landmarks. The Port Adelaide area is known as the History Precinct, as it is home to the Maritime Museum, the National Railway Museum and the Aviation Museum. As of 2016 the current Mayor is Gary Johanson, who was elected in 2006. There are 17 ward councillors who represent the residents and businesses of their wards at council meetings.