Barkly Shire Council

The Barkly Regional Council is a local government area of the Northern Territory, Australia. The region's main town is Tennant Creek. The region covers an area of 322,514 square kilometres (124,523 sq mi) and had a population of over 6,500 as at the 2016 Census. In October 2006 the Northern Territory Government announced the reform of local government areas. The intention of the reform was to improve and expand the delivery of services to towns and communities across the Northern Territory by establishing eleven new shires. The Barkly Shire was created on 1 July 2008 as were the remaining ten shires. On 1 January 2014, it was renamed Barkly Region. The most recent elections of Councillors were held on 26 August 2017. The current President (Mayor) of the Region is Steve Edgington.