Burdekin Shire Council

The Shire of Burdekin is a local government area located in North Queensland, Australia in the Dry Tropics region. The district is located between Townsville and Bowen in the delta of the Burdekin River. It covers an area of 5,052.5 square kilometres (1,950.8 sq mi), and has existed as a local government entity since 1888. On 16 January 1888, the Ayr Division was created out of Subdivision 3 of the Thuringowa Division in 1888 under the Divisional Boards Act 1887. With the passage of the Local Authorities Act 1902, Ayr Division became the Shire of Ayr on 31 March 1903 On 12 June 1982, the Shire of Ayr was renamed the Shire of Burdekin, a change long desired by the residents of Home Hill.