Indigo Shire Council

The Shire of Indigo, a local government area (LGA) in the Hume region of Victoria, Australia, lies in the north-east part of the state. It covers an area of 2,040 square kilometres (790 sq mi) and on June 2018 had a population of 16,490.

It includes the towns of Beechworth, Chiltern, Rutherglen and Yackandandah. It formed in 1994 from the amalgamation of the Shire of Rutherglen, Shire of Chiltern, Shire of Yackandandah and United Shire of Beechworth.

The Shire is governed and administered by the Indigo Shire Council; its seat of local government and administrative centre is located at the council headquarters in Beechworth, it also has service centres located in Chiltern, Rutherglen and Yackandandah. The Shire is named after the Indigo Valley and Indigo Creek, geographical features that meander through the LGA and into the Murray River.