Cooma-Monaro Shire Council

Cooma-Monaro Shire was a local government area located in the Monaro region of southern New South Wales, Australia. The area was named after the former Cooma Municipality and the former Monaro Shire, that were amalgamated to create it. The Municipality of Cooma was established in 1879, and the Monaro Shire was one of several shires established in 1906. The Monaro Shire and Cooma Municipal Council amalgamated in 1981. On 11 February 2004, Cooma-Monaro Shire absorbed a small part of the former Yarrowlumla Shire, near Michelago. A 2015 review of local government boundaries recommended that the Cooma-Monaro Shire merge with the Bombala and Snowy River shires to form a new council with an area of 15,162 square kilometres (5,854 sq mi) and support a population of approximately 21,000. On 12 May 2016, the Cooma-Monaro Shire merged with Bombala and Snowy River shires to form the Snowy Monaro Regional Council.