Ararat Rural City Council

Ararat Rural City is a local government area in Victoria, Australia, located in the western part of the state. It covers an area of 4,211 square kilometres (1,626 sq mi) and in June 2018 had a population of 11,795.

It includes the towns of Ararat, Armstrong, Dunneworthy, Lake Bolac, Moyston, Pomonal, Streatham, Tatyoon, Wickliffe and Willaura. It was formed in 1994 from the amalgamation of the City of Ararat, Shire of Ararat and parts of the Shire of Mortlake and Shire of Stawell.

Ararat Rural City is governed and administered by the Ararat Rural City Council; its seat of local government and administrative centre is located at the council headquarters in Ararat. The Rural City is named after the main urban settlement located in the north of the LGA, that is Ararat, which is also the LGA's most populous urban centre with a population of 8,076.