Corangamite Catchment Management Authority

Healthy and productive lands and waters cared for by thriving communities

The Corangamite CMA was established in 1997 to ensure the protection and sustainable development of land, vegetation and water resources within a boundary stretching from Geelong to Ballarat and along the Surf Coast to Peterborough.

Approximately 420,000 people live in the region’s 13,340 square kilometers of south-western Victoria and 175 kilometers of coastal fringe.

The region is defined by four river basins – the Moorabool, Barwon, Lake Corangamite and Otway Coast.

It includes all or part of the cities of Ballarat and Greater Geelong, the Borough of Queenscliffe and the shires of Moorabool, Surf Coast, Corangamite, Golden Plains, Colac Otway and Moyne.